Compare

FastDog vs Tailscale Funnel

Tailscale Funnel shares a service on a device in your tailnet with the public internet. FastDog puts a self-hosted app on your own domain. They overlap for "make this app on my box reachable over HTTPS," and differ a lot after that.

Short version

Side by side

Tailscale Funnel FastDog
Status Beta, available on all plans [1]. New. Open sign-up since Oct 19, 2026.
Price Personal plan $0, for non-commercial use, up to 6 users. Standard $8 per user per month, Premium $18 per user per month [2]. Signing up with a custom (work) domain starts a 14-day Enterprise trial [2]. Hobby $9/mo, Pro $29/mo, Agency $149/mo. Free for 7 days on one hostname, no card.
Address Only DNS names in your tailnet’s domain (tailnet-name.ts.net) [1]. Your own domain or subdomain.
Ports Funnel listens only on 443, 8443, and 10000, over TLS-encrypted connections only [1]. Standard HTTPS on your hostname.
Bandwidth Traffic is subject to non-configurable bandwidth limits [1]. Fair use applies.
Protocols HTTPS reverse proxy, file serving, and a TCP forwarder (raw or TLS-terminated) for things like SSH or RDP [3]. UDP: not stated on the pages we checked. HTTP(S) only. No TCP or UDP.
WebSockets Not stated on the pages we checked. Not supported. An upgrade request returns 400.
Request timeout and streaming Not stated on the pages we checked. 30-second timeout. No streaming responses or server-sent events (SSE).
Upload size No limit stated on the pages checked; bandwidth limits apply [1]. 50 MiB. Larger requests return HTTP 413.
Encryption path Funnel relay servers don’t decrypt traffic. TLS ends on your device [1]. TLS ends at the FastDog edge, which forwards through the tunnel to your app.
Requirements Tailscale v1.38.3+, MagicDNS, HTTPS enabled, and a funnel node attribute in the tailnet policy. Only platforms that run the Tailscale CLI [1]. Docker without sudo (recommended) or the Linux systemd installer, plus two DNS records.
Private access too Yes. Serve and the rest of Tailscale cover private access inside your tailnet [1]. No. FastDog publishes hostnames publicly.
AI assistant setup (Not compared here.) "Copy prompt for your AI assistant" and /llms.txt. On the trial, you add the hostname and DNS records in the portal, then the prompt’s 1-hour, connect-only token lets the assistant connect it. With an API key (the trial gets one, for its one website), it does the whole setup.

Where Tailscale Funnel is better

Where FastDog is different

Sources (checked Oct 22, 2026)

  1. Tailscale Funnel docs (page says "Last validated Jan 20, 2026"): https://tailscale.com/kb/1223/funnel
  2. Tailscale pricing: https://tailscale.com/pricing
  3. tailscale funnel command reference ("Last validated Jan 26, 2026"): https://tailscale.com/kb/1311/tailscale-funnel

Related: AI assistants · vs Cloudflare Tunnel · vs ngrok · All comparisons